

Board of Trustees

Regular Meeting of the Governance Committee
Board of Trustees
October 19th, 2015
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Ackerman Alumni Room, 208
Eastern Oregon University
La Grande, Oregon

Trustees Present: Ray Brown, Bobbie Conner (phone), Jer Pratton, Bill Johnson (phone), and Holly Kerfoot (phone).

University Staff Present: Chris Burford, Tim Seydel, and Heidi Tilicki

Chair Bill Johnson called the meeting to order at 10:21 a.m. due to technical difficulties. The consent items which included the minutes from the August 5th and 13th meetings were unanimously approved.

Chair Bill Johnson invited Vice President Tim Seydel to briefly outline the trustee nomination and recruitment procedure. The committee discussed the importance of having candidates shelved for future vacancies. Committee members noted that future changes to the procedure should address how the faculty, staff, and student trustees are nominated. A specific process that also addresses term limits might need to be elaborated on. A staggered approach is desirable for trustee term limits.

Vice President Tim Seydel noted that it most cases, board members would know or have some knowledge of the prospective candidates. Trustee Jer Pratton noted that the entire board does not have to be involved in this selection process, they only approve the name(s) we bring before them. One or two members of the Governance Committee would be involved in any interview process.

The committee discussed one potential candidate to present to the Governor for the vacant board position. The name would be offered for contention at the November legislative term. The next opportunity would be the February legislative session. Trustee Bobbie Conner asked if

a spreadsheet or Gantt chart be made to indicate when board terms expire. The committee reached a consensus to offer the candidate to the board at the October 22nd meeting.

Trustee Jer Pratton moved to approve the trustee nomination and recruitment procedure, with a second from Trustee Ray Brown. The motion was carried unanimously.

Chair Johnson invited Board Secretary Chris Burford to outline the board note card procedure. The purpose of this procedure is to maintain clear communication and good relations with members of the EOU community. Trustee Bobbie Conner noted that committee chairs should be allowed to speak to the public with thanks and appreciation as individuals. She asked if the board can define or change our current protocols. A distinction should be made between an official board thank you and one as an individual. A personal note as an individual is acceptable. This procedure, once adopted, would be an official statement from the board. Depending on the content, the board might allow the designee(s) to change depending on the content and the nature of the notecard.

A motion was made by Trustee Holly Kerfoot to approve the note card procedure with a change to include "the chair's designee(s)" in the first sentence of the procedure section, with a second from Trustee Ray Brown. The motion was carried unanimously.

Chair Johnson invited Secretary Burford to give the committee an overview of the work plan. Trustee Kerfoot requested that the committee meetings be scheduled around campus events. Trustee Conner recommended this committee begin a discussion about how board members should meet and have a presence on campus. The more often this board can combine activities the better.

The committee work plan was tabled for further discussion at the November 4th meeting. A draft calendar of combined events will be provided.

Chair Johnson began a discussion to develop criteria and tools for the presidential evaluation. Summative and formative process JP. Trustee Jer Pratton noted that there is a summative and a formative process and that quantitative evaluations are not the best measurements for evaluations. This committee should create a list of attributes and goals we expect from our president, such as financial, public relations, etc. This committee should address the various strengths we want in a president, and include faculty and staff in the comprehensive assessment (which will occur about every two years). Trustee Conner recommended that this committee create a work group to define those characteristics and draft a document. Trustees Pratton, Kerfoot and Chair Johnson will create a draft document of the assessment for review at the November 4th meeting.

Chair Johnson invited Secretary Burford to address the delivery of board emails to personal email accounts of board members. If board materials are opened and sent to a personal or another work email account, the content is not protected under the EOU umbrella and can be

subject to review under public records law. Some board members can only utilize the board documents through their personal email. This topic was tabled for the next meeting.

Chair Johnson invited Vice President Tim Seydel to speak with the committee on legislative issues. He asked the committee what they would like to hear from him regarding specific legislative issues. the most value to us going into this leg. Session. The committee requested that Vice President Seydel only bring issues related to higher education to their attention. He will draft a legislative advocacy plan for the November 4th meeting.

Chair Johnson began the discussion on staggering board terms. Currently, eleven board members will have their terms expire on the same date. Secretary Burford noted that the terms are determined by the governor. The only way to fix this problem is to take it to the governor's office. We would probably want to create staggered terms that only last for about two years. Trustee Conner asked what other schools are doing to address this problem. Secretary Burford noted that this topic will be discussed in the next Board Secretary meeting.

Secretary Burford noted that members of the university unions, such as the Associated Academic Professionals (AAP) or the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) cannot participate in any discussion about collective bargaining during a board meeting.

With no further business, Chair Johnson adjourned the meeting at 12:13 p.m.